Keep an Open Mind

I went to acupuncture last night for the first time in a few years.  It felt absolutely wonderful, I slept wonderfully and all pain I was having in my lower back was relieved.  Acupuncture has been shown to very much help with depression, allergies, and hundreds of other things.  But, my medical insurance, which is very good as company plans go, didn’t pay a penny for it.  I was 100% out-of-pocket to see a fully licensed acupuncturist with many years experience.  Meanwhile, had I wanted to get pills prescribed for my back, or if someone else wanted a whole assortment of drugs for depression, this is fully covered by insurance with a small co-pay.

I’m reminded of when I was in Ecuador and they had fields of plants growing medication (see picture) which they claimed would cure your liver, or your heart, or almost anything which ails you.  As Americans we may find this very tough to believe, but they’ll say exactly the same thing about all of our drugs, and they will say it while holding something which is completely natural, locally grown, and it works.

Our context in America seems to be to take pills for everything.  Today I’m going to ask that you invite other possibilities.  Just because someone else calls something medicine, doesn’t mean that it is the only way, or even that it’s the best way.  Healthy eating, meditating, not constantly doing 10 things at the same time, good exercising, all this together is a very strong prescription for happiness and healthiness.  If people truly and honestly shift their views, maybe one day insurance companies will even agree.  

Keep an open mind.  There’s more than one way to do anything. 

Image

Leave a Reply

